Gamescom 2021: How to watch the opening night live stream and what to expect

2 months ago 14
PR Distribution

(Pocket-lint) - Gamescom is Germany's biggest annual videogames convention, but as with last year, it has been switched to virtual-only in 2021.

That doesn't mean there won't be the traditional big gaming announcements, however. There will be a packed schedule of amazing online presentations and shows, including the now traditional Opening Night Live event, hosted by The Game Awards' Geoff Keighley and GameStar's Natascha Becker.

Here's how to watch it.

When does Gamescom Opening Night Live start?

The Gamescom Opening Night Live show starts at 8pm CEST (local time for Germany) on Wednesday 25 August 2021. Here are the times for your area:

  • West Coast US: 11am PDT
  • East Coast US: 2pm EDT
  • UK: 7pm BST
  • Central Europe: 8pm CEST

How to watch Gamescom 2020 Opening Night Live

We hope to host is here on Pocket-lint closer the time.

Alternatively, you shoud be able to watch it on The Game Awards' YouTube channel.

— Geoff Keighley (@geoffkeighley) August 18, 2021

What to expect

The Opening Night Live event will be a two-hours long showcase.

It will show footage and reveal trailers for "over 30 games" with co-host Keighley stating that there will be a few surprises too: "We're delighted to produce another gamescom: Opening Night Live, which will present more than 30 games from across the industry this year. The community can look forward to new game reveals, updates on the most anticipated games and other surprises with guests on stage and much more – all live streamed for fans around the world," he said.

GameStar's Natascha Becker will also co-host for the first time.

We'll keep you up to date on any further announcements or rumours as they come in.

You can follow all of the goings on at Gamescom 2021 on its dedicated homepage here.

 Best PlayStation 4 and PS4 Pro games every gamer must own

Top PS4 games 2021: Best PlayStation 4 and PS4 Pro games every gamer must own By Rik Henderson · 19 August 2021

Writing by Rik Henderson. Originally published on 24 August 2020.

Read Entire Article